Decatur Transmission Repair

Call Us:(404) 325-8484
Mon - Fri: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
5

1

The quick story: my problem was mis/not diagnosed and I could have gotten hurt or in an accident on the highway when my engine seized up (at 70mph) and overheated 1.5 hours after leaving the city. The long story: I'd brought my car in after the check transmission & check engine lights were flashing at me after about an hour of driving on the expressway (at 70mph) and it would no longer accelerate up to 70mph. I'd brought my car in the next day to Scott, and in his defense those lights were no longer on and the car seemed to be working fine. The initial diagnostic test indicated that the Input Shaft Sensor was not working but even that seemed to be fine after he drove it around. So he left it up to me if I wanted to switch out that sensor even though it seemed to "just be a glitch and it might not happen again." And I said "but what if it DOES happen again?? I have 16 hours of driving ahead of me." He seemed to shrug off my concern. And so I went ahead and had them switch out the sensor ($230) since he offered nothing else as a possibility of what the problem was. Fast forward to being 1.5 hours out of the city, my car sounding a little strange (not accelerating well) and the moment I take it to 70mph, the engine seized up as if I'd slammed on the brakes, smoke is coming from the hood, the speedometer is glitching with different speeds, and the accelerator only revs when I press it. I was terrified as I'd put on my hazards and tried to safely make my way to the shoulder amidst all this stress. So after towing my car to a much better mechanic in Chattanooga (S&S Auto Repair), I'd learned that the problem was that there was too much transmission fluid in the system (over 3.5 quarts too much) and that when the transmission got hot (driving for over an hour @70mph), it would bubble out of the overflow tube and onto the transmission and different parts of the engine. Thus creating the wild overheating and glitching. (Btw: S&S fixed the issue, and my car has been driving smoother than ever) While Scott's team did not create the problem (in fact, they did not touch my transmission fluid), Scott did not have enough curiosity, concern, or basic thoroughness to look into the possibility of my transmission not having the correct amount of fluid. Instead I wasted $230 on a sensor I didn't need to change (since it *seemed* to have a glitch--when in fact it was accurately trying to report that there was a problem). Transmission fluid level is not something I would even know to look for, not to mention how. I am no expert. My name is not Mr. Transmission. I'd brought my car to them because they are supposed to be experts, but Scott dismissed my concern, did not find the problem, and my life and others' were at risk on the highway.

Hi Michelle, at Mr. Transmission we strive to do our very best to always exceed our customers’ expectations. We disappointed your experience did not meet our standards. At the time when we inspected your vehicle your transmission fluid level was normal and the only issue we could see was possibly the shaft sensor not working properly. After replacing the sensor and test driving your vehicle we could not see any further issues. We are sorry you had an issue while driving your vehicle and understand the safety concern. After speaking with you on the phone there are many reasons for a transmission to appear to be overfilled. Unfortunately we could not see this issue when we inspected your vehicle and again from what we could see it was running properly. We appreciate your business and value your feedback. Thank you and have a great day.

- Mr. Transmission North Decatur #273A
1

If I could give it negative 5 I would!!! This place is full of scams! Don’t go here

At Mr. Transmission we strive to do our very best to always exceed our customers’ expectations. We are sorry your experience did not meet our standards. We appreciate your business and value your feedback. I would like the opportunity to discuss this further with you. If you would be willing to talk further please call Scott Hester at (404)325-8484. Thank you and have a great day.

- Mr. Transmission North Decatur #273A
1

At Mr. Transmission of Decatur we strive to do our very best to always exceed our customers’ expectations. We are sorry your experience did not meet our standards. We appreciate your business and value your feedback. I would like the opportunity to discuss this further with you. If you would be willing to talk further please call Scott Hester at (404) 325-8484. Thank you and have a great day.

- Mr. Transmission North Decatur #273A
5

My transmission light came on and I took the car in and Scott diagnosed it as an engine problem not a transmission for no charge .He told me I was welcome to take it to my regular mechanic but I left it with them and they had it ready the same day Scott was very professional and I would not hesitate to bring my car back if so needed.

5

Scott was very nice. Very quick service. My car is now working perfect. Highly recommended!

Hi John, thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We are glad to hear that Mr. Transmission was able to get your vehicle back on the road quickly and efficiently!

- Mr. Transmission North Decatur #273A
5

Had a transmission issue on a Saturday afternoon, called and Scott was able to help me get my car towed in to service first thing Monday. As a single Mom I was devastated without my car. Within 2-3 days later I had my car back and under warranty for any future issues. Thank you for helping me get thru this tough time!

Hi Patricia, thank you for sharing your story with us. We know that life stops for no one! It was our pleasure to make sure you got the professional and prompt service to get your vehicle back on the road.

- Mr. Transmission North Decatur #273A
1

Very rude just called to get a quote but got an attitude and no quote instead.

At Mr. Transmission of Decatur we strive to do our very best to always exceed our customers’ expectations. We are sorry your experience did not meet our standards and would appreciate the opportunity to give you a quote. If you would be willing to talk further please call Scott Hester at (404) 325-8484. Thank you and have a great day.

- Mr. Transmission North Decatur #273A
5

Scott is awesome...customer service was great, and they do top notch work! No surprises on the repair price. He looked at my car, gave me a very reasonable quote, and that’s exactly what I paid. He also does a 10 day checkup (no charge) to make sure everything is working well and to check for leaks, etc., and encourages you to call if there are any problems at all. He really knows how to take good care of his customers. I would highly recommend him to my friends and family!

Thank you for the review Peggy! We appreciated the feedback!

- Mr. Transmission North Decatur #273A
1

I came here to essentially have my transmission fixed for my Ford Fiesta and they did a reprogramming that was meant to fix it, but didn’t. The same day that I came to get my vehicle and paid them for their alleged hardwork was the same day the transmission went out again. When I called back to be reimbursed since they work they did made no impact on my vehicle, they refused. Though they appear to be friendly I would not recommend coming here because we don’t come to places like this for friendly conversation. We come to have our vehicles fixed.

Mr. Transmission Decatur #273A is committed to ensuring effective communication and digital accessibility to all users. We are continually improving the user experience for everyone, and apply the relevant accessibility standards to achieve these goals. We welcome your feedback. Please call Mr. Transmission North Decatur #273A (404) 325-8484 if you have any issues in accessing any area of our website.